Go MISSION STATEMENT: Central Institute of Indian Languages was established to co-ordinate the development of Indian Languages, to bring about the essential unity of Indian languages through scientific studies, Promote inter-disciplinary research, contribute to mutual enrichment of languages, and thus contribute towards emotional integration of people of India. Reset Default Text Size Theme

Home > RLC > Background Information

Regional Language Centres and Extension Services

Background Information of RLCs
  • The main objective of the Regional Language Centres of the C.I.I.L as laid down in the EFC Memo No.F.4-1/69-IL-II dated September 17, 1969 is to help State Governments implement three language formula.
  • Creating resource persons and materials
  • Offering short-term and Intensive as well as full time courses in various Indian Languages
  • Training existing graduate teachers of the country.
  Locations and other details :
  • Four RLCs were set up in 1970 in fulfillment of the commitment made by the then Union Education in the Floor of Parliament for making trained teachers available to States and UTs for implementing Three Language Formula.
  • First four Centres are ERLC, Laxmisagar, Bhubaneswar, NRLC, Punjabi University Campus, Patiala-2, SRLC, Manasagangotri, Mysore -6 and WRLC, Deccan College Campus, Pune-6.
  • Later two more centres, UTRC, Solan, Saproon, Himachal Pradesh and UTRC, Madan Mohan Malaviya Marg, Lucknow-2, were set up at the request of the State Governments of Himachal Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh.
  • In 1989, NERLC was set up as partial fulfilment of Government of India's commitment for the implementation of Assam Accord.

Back Top
COPYRIGHT © 2010 Central Institute of Indian Languages, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.